top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris

Getting Sporty!

I have written in the past about getting outside of your comfort zone and trying something different with your photography - well at the end of 2019 I did just that with sports photography.


It all came from a camera club competition on sports and action - now I am very keen on rugby and thought I would try and combine 2 of my passions and visit my local rugby club and take some images.


Not wanting to have the "what is this guy with the camera doing just turning up" I contacted the local club and have rapidly found that local clubs are crying out for people to come and take pictures for them.






The reception I received was astounding - not only was I welcomed with open arms but was also invited along to the training sessions (not successful as it was pitch black and the floodlights used didn't help!). Match day I was there to see the warm up and then to take pictures through the match - processed them when I got home and made them available to the club


In addition to me really enjoying the experience of watching the match and taking the images, the coach and players have loved it with my images being used in promotional material and players social media sites - something I could never have imagined when I started, and will definitely continue in the future!


And the competition? This image I took on my first outing got a second place - very pleased with the result, especially as some in the club have been taking sports images for many years!



Some basics from my experience though:

  • Please contact the club and let them know you are coming - even if just out of politeness ... but you never know you could become their "unofficial" club photographer!

  • Dress for the conditions - rugby is played in cold, often wet, conditions so wrap up warm! Do the same for your sport of choice

  • Camera gear and settings will depend on the sport and effects you want - for me I got the images I wanted using a 70-300mm on manual, 1/500 sec, f8 and auto ISO on burst mode

  • Take lots of images - there will be lots of "duffers" in there where you just missed the moment and/or another player ran across in front of you at the split second you pressed the shutter button

  • Share your images with the club - they will be very grateful


Unfortunately, my excursions to matches have been stopped due to the coronavirus lockdown - but I will be going back for the start of the new season!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page